Dominican Republic Baseball History

The Dominican Republic baseball although considered as an all-American sport, is also very popular in the country as much as it is on the States. Over the years, the country has been the home of renowned baseball players such as Jairo Asencio, the Miguel Olivo, Enrique Cruz and Nino Espinosa. The sport has been played in Dominican Republic for many years.

Baseball is considered to be an essential element of the social life. Up until today, the history of the sport in the country is still very vague. Some historians believe that it may have been introduced in the late 1800s, while others believe that it was brought into the country by American Marines who invaded Dominican Republic. There are others that attribute the introduction of baseball into the country to the Cubans who fled during the war. Most of the immigrants who found their way to Dominican Republic eventually sharing their knowledge of the sport with the local people.

After the formation of the first baseball team, more teams began to originate. Some of the teams that stood out: Estrellas Orientales and the Leones del Escogido. Another popular among them is Los Tigres de Licey. Before the 1940s, Dominican Republic teams began playing against other Caribbean nations.   

Dominican Republic Baseball Stadium

Before the 1930s, the sport was played freely and without government participation. But during the term of Rafael Leonidas Trujillo, all sports activities went under government control. Fortunately, the president himself was also a fan of the sport. Then the Dominican Republic baseball took a turn for modernization. The government commissioned the construction of the first baseball stadium of the country, which expanded the practice of the sport to the rest of the regions. The official baseball league was also formed during the time. 

In the past, baseball playing was only possible during at sunlight but then, with the well lighted stadium, playing the sport during nighttime is then made possible.

Today, the season of Dominican baseball takes place between the months of October and January.

Most of the games are played in various baseball stadiums that are located in different parts of the country. There is the Quisqueya Stadium in Santo Domingo and other stadiums in Santiago, La Romana and San Pedro de Macoris. 

The country has six baseball teams that compete during the sporting season. The winning team is awarded with the honor of representing the country in the Caribbean World Series, where they compete with other countries.

» » Baseball

» » » Baseball

Top of page

Site Map | DisclaimerDisclosure Policy | Privacy Policy | Blog | FAQ | About | Contact us